J.B. Blackford

Refine. Hone. Distill. The self is a text, too.

Edit and Enhance: Start-ups Teach Us about Web Design

No one wastes time on an ugly site.

No one wastes time on a boring site, a difficult-to-navigate site, a difficult-to-read site.

And if your font is too small, forget about it.

Lately, I’ve been working with clients’ sites, like The Spot Press (a minimalist site for a fine art photographer’s books and other work), or Figments: Conversations with Andy (a site for the filmmaker/photographer/installation artist who visits Andy Warhol’s grave every day and documents the people who visit the pop icon).

After these months, I realize how little I knew about header ratios, pixel widths, and the various options I had when I first set up this blog. I also had no idea what I wanted.

It’s time for a change.

I’ll always believe that the self is a mutable text, and the blog — as a manifestation of that — should be ready to evolve when it’s time.

There isn’t much else to say about the site’s new look other than that. This template still isn’t exactly what I want, but then again I’m still learning, and a free, user-friendly host is what this freelancer is looking for.

What insights do you have about web design that you want to share? I’m always ready to learn.

2 comments on “Edit and Enhance: Start-ups Teach Us about Web Design

  1. Physics and Art
    September 8, 2014

    What I find so difficult is not only do you have to learn so much, but with the constant evolution of software and technology, you have to relearn things over and over again.

    • JB Blackford
      September 9, 2014

      Thanks so much for taking the time to comment! I completely agree with you. It seems as though I’m constantly learning either a new program altogether or familiarizing myself with updates to software that I use regularly.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 23, 2014 by in Editing and tagged , , , , , , , .
